Afro Celt Sound System,

Twenty years since they were formed by Grammy-nominated musician and record producer Simon Emmerson, Afro Celt Sound System have announced a new studio album ‘The Source’ was released on 29 April 2016 on ECC Records. Signed copies of the album on CD or Double Vinyl are available to ORDER NOW from Townsend Music or from  (CD) Amazon and I-TUNES

‘The Source’ is undoubtedly their most ambitious album yet and one will take their cross-cultural collaboration and acclaimed live performances to another level. It is the first album to fully celebrate the African and Asian roots brought to the band by long-term members’ vocalist, kora and balafon player N’Faly Kouyaté and Dhol drummer Johnny Kalsi. Along with founder member Simon Emmerson (producer, guitars, cittern) and new core member Griogair (vocals, piping, guitars) – winner of Gaelic Singer of the Year at the 2015 Scots Trad Music Awards – the album also features contributions from a host of other outstanding musicians which together fully demonstrates the eclecticism of the band’s music including Davy Spillane (uillean pipe, whistles), Ronan Browne (uilleann pipes), Emer Mayock (Uilleann Pipes and Whistle) and Moussa Sissoka (talk drums and djembe).

The album is mixed by Afro Celt programmer, engineer and mixer Mass and Dave Botterill (who mixed the first two ACSS albums) and other guests on the album include members of Shooglenifty, plus a 5 strong female griot vocal group from N’Faly’s homeland Guinea Conakry, Robbie Harris (bodhran), Ged Lynch (drums), Seane Davey (Harp), Richard Evans (Bass and engineering), Amagh flutist and singer Rioghnach Connolly and making her debut studio session Lucy Doonan.

ARTIST: Afro Celt Sound System
Album: The Source
LABEL: ECC Records / ECC100


1. Calling in the Horses
2. Beware Soul Brother
3. The Magnificent Seven (ACSS meets TDF)
4. Cascade
5. A Higher Love (tune ‘Monkswell Road’ )
6. Honey Bee
7. Where Two Rivers Meet
8. Mansani Cissé/Tàladh
9. Child of Wonder
10. Desert Billy (tune ‘The Balcony’)
11. The Communicator
12. The Soul of a Sister
13. Kalsi Breakbeat

  1. Sanctus Afro Celt Sound System & The Amani Choir 5:16